Goodbye πŸ‘‹

A lot of time has passed since my last blog post. It’s also been a long time since I started this blog. For over 12 years I have been providing precompiled OpenSSL libraries. With this blog I wanted to make the work on this and the Delphi Encryption Compendium more transparent.

I was very closely involved with Delphi and the community around it for many years. Some know me as a conference speaker, others through forums.

But my spare time became more and more limited and for the last 4 years I have published updates directly without any blog post. With the newer OpenSSL versions the build process has changed drastically and due to the lack of my own use of Windows or Delphi (anymore) I currently have no need and no time left to implement the complex changes.

It is time for me to move on. New professional and private challenges have been keeping me busy for a long time. I have to focus on them now.

In the past, many well-known Fortune 500 companies have indirectly trusted me. Even somebody at the NASA thought it was worth a small hint1. That was amazing! πŸš€πŸ€©

I want to thank all of you for your loyalty and support over the years.

See you soon, maybe at conferences. Live long and prosper πŸ––

P.S.: The blog will remain an archive for now. Comments will be deactivated at some point.

P.P.S.: As Remy pointed out in his comment, the new location of the Indy-related OpenSSL libraries is on GitHub: https://github.com/IndySockets/OpenSSL-Binaries.

1 https://cddis.nasa.gov/Data_and_Derived_Products/Caster_client_config.html. See Windows Client Step 6: “Click on the link that says “Pre-compiled Win32/64 libraries without external dependencies to the Microsoft Visual Studio Runtime DLLs, except for the system provided msvcrt.dll”. This is important! That link refers you to indy.fulgan.com/SSL.”

4 thoughts on “Goodbye πŸ‘‹

    • Thank you Remy for pointing that out! I’ll edit the post to include a reference to the new location. Mentioning the Fulgan mirror was just a quotation and not an intended reference.

  1. Thanks very much for producing those SSL binaries for all these years. I had wondered a few times over the years who Fulgan actually was, now I know here at the end. Once again, thanks for your efforts.

    • Thank you very much!

      To add some clarification: I’m actually not the person behind Fulgan itself. Fulgan is/was the name of a mirror of another Indy member, StΓ©phane, and he provided a place where my OpenSSL libraries and the Indy SVN source snapshots were hosted. For non-Delphi users: Indy is an open source client/server communications library that supports TCP/UDP/RAW sockets and many higher level protocols such as SMTP.

Leave a comment